Who do you think you see?

One of my friends, a wonderful woman, a sweet soul has found the love she was looking for. It wasn’t a surprise, I was praying for her for this to happen, so, today she simply confirmed what my intuition already told me. And I hugged her and we laughed together and…

And I tried to remember…

My own love story.

And I couldn’t.

I couldn’t remember feeling so careless and free. Loving with all my heart, dreaming and playing, feeling that unique passion, laughing for no reason…with him.

But I remembered me trying to fly with broken wings. And failing. I remembered him telling me “I need you” and me, with tears in my eyes and that little spark of hope burning all over again in me…

“You need me?

Yes, I do.

Why?

Because I can’t handle everything by myself. I need you to help me with this house, with the kids, with everything there is to be done…”

I remembered how the little spark died, killed by our every day boredom, sacrificed in the name of commodity and conformism. I blamed myself, at least as much as I blamed him.

And I wanted to run to him, to make him look one more time, even if it would be the last time, in my eyes. I wanted to ask him.

Who do you think you see when you look into my eyes?

And to run away from him if his answer will kill another burning flame…

I want you to see the sea rushing to the shores with the power of a thousand waves…

I want you to see the rose petals melting in the sweetest summer wind, caressing your warm skin…

I want you to see the raindrops falling on your burning heart, when this world has set your dreams on fire…

Oh, how I wish you could see the woman who goes to hell and back in every nightmare because she tried to fly with broken wings. And she failed…

Oh, how I wish you could love me again.

Leave a Reply

