You broke it…

I was starring at the little pieces of red glass on the floor, the remains of (what it was supposed to be) his heart, a trophy he won at a competition. We were both around 12, on our way to a wonderful vacation by the sea.

-You played with my heart and you broke it!

-I didn’t…it just slipped through my fingers. Your heart was…slippery…

-My heart was perfect! And now it’s broken. I knew I shouldn’t give you my heart! I knew! Why have you asked for it if you knew you can’t take care of it?

-I’ll fix it…I’ll get a special glue and I’ll put the pieces back together again…

-You’re so stupid! There is no such thing as a special glue…I can’t believe I gave it to you!

The guilt overcame my anger so I spoke in a very soft voice…

-I’m not stupid…

-Yes, you are! And spoiled too! It was precious, you know? And unique…

-Look, I would give you my heart, but…

-But you don’t have a heart, right? That’s why you wanted mine! And I told you to be careful, because it’s a precious heart! But nooo…you played with it and now it’s broken!

-It slipped…

I was almost crying.

-And I hope you’ll never win any heart! And you’ll never touch anyone’s heart! And if you’ll ever have yours, I hope someone will play with it till he gets bored and then he’ll smash it to the ground!

I started to cry desperately, covering my face so he wont see my tears. He stood there for a while, cursing and talking to himself. Then he looked at me and something changed in him. He came closer.

-I’m sorry I called you stupid and spoiled.

I was too sad to answer, but the change took me by surprise and touched me in a way I never knew it’s possible. So I cried harder.

-Don’t cry, it’s alright…it was just a stupid heart. Not important…a girly thing, I didn’t even liked it…

-No…it was beautiful and precious. I’m so sorry…I…I really didn’t wanted…

-Look, if you want it…even if it’s broken…

-Will you give it to me? All the little pieces?

-Yes, silly! All the little pieces. Who knows, maybe you’ll really find that special glue…

So I wandered through the deep dark paths of this labyrinth, searching for it. And I fixed every broken heart I’ve met on my way. And I lost mine on the process…

But the little red pieces are still shining. Even if, when I try to touch them, they cut through my skin, leaving me bleeding…I’m still putting them back together, praying for a miracle.

2 thoughts on “When you’re too in love to let it go

Leave a Reply

