Is this real life, or is it just a fantasy?

A haunted lake, filled with haunting memories. Whispers, voices coming from nowhere and a deep, inexplicable tiredness. And a sign, warning people about the danger of falling.

The sign was visible: don’t jump, the water is too deep…but I still crossed the security barriers in front of me. The water was dark-green, looking more like a swamp than a lake. Still, something fascinated me about this water. So here I was, chasing a golden fish. My golden fish…

Three wishes…He fulfilled them all, so what’s the point? Why am I taking this risk? I wanted to fall in love again…

Then I wanted to feel loved, treasured, desired like never before…

Then I wanted this love to be pure, beautiful, to heal and to enlighten and to…never destroy…never break…never harm…

My wishes came true. And even more…I was given the power to believe in fairy tales. At least this time. So why do I keep chasing my golden fish?

-Didn’t you saw the sign?

No…I was daydreaming…

-Do you want to fall into this deep water?

Not at all…I was only…

-You’re at the edge! One more step and you’ll fall!

Should I take this step?

-Don’t tell me you want to swim in this dirty water!

I wasn’t planning to swim…I was only…

-People are watching! If you want to fall, at least don’t do it in public! This is so embarrassing!

People? Do they know? Did I let it slip away? My secret love…

-Okay, I’m leaving. I can’t watch you making a fool out of yourself! I’ll be waiting on the other side!

I never wanted to make a fool out of myself…I was only…

Someone was touching my hair. So gently, so tender. Then his warm hands, caressing my bare shoulders. Softly whispering in my ear, words I couldn’t understand. But I said yes…He took my hand and pulled me closer to his body. I could feel his heart beating so fast…or was it my heart? It felt safe…

-One more step…there you go…Now open your eyes, slowly…no rush. Do you remember what happen?

It was still dark but memories came back one by one. I felt so tired…I must have fall asleep here, by the lake. And, in my sleep…A few seconds more and I would have been…drowned…missing…death?

The water was so deep, so dirty, so suffocating…

-Sssttthhh…don’t cry. You’re safe now…

-Someone was here…Someone talked to me…

-No…no one was here…it was just a dream…don’t be silly.

Was it? Am I? Are WE?

Leave a Reply

